vacation disbelief

I took a bit of time to slack off and look through my old pictures.   I looked at my trips to Hawaii, Belize, Vegas, NYC, DC, Chicago, Mexico, SE Asia, India, Japan etc and think “how the heck did that happen?” Of course they didn’t happen in succession, but still, just the fact that they happened seems surreal.

It’s just that I’ve been so drowned in work, bills and survival lately that the thought of a trip like that feels like a big bad dream. It’s like I’ve been swallowed up by this heavy stage of being responsible.  Like a sudden maturity that forced me to put aside my adventurous “c’est la vie” spark.  I mean, duh, of course if I could I would but that could also be running away from real life. What about my loans?  Or career growth? Or saving up for my future family or retirement?

I mean…..ok, I’m actually not sure where I’m going with this.  Perhaps to say that I sure could use a vacation super soon.   Not just a short weekend trip, but one that entails exploring the unfamiliar.  I really hope it happens soon, but with all my bills screaming for attention I don’t know if it can.  Sigh….

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

