stop sabotaging your own success

I know I usually start the articles I post with “wow, this is a great article” that it’s probably I little too cliche by now. Well, all of them were sincere and every article struck a different chord. This one, however, is a big WOW. If I’ve talked to you at least once in the past year, we’ve probably talked about hitting the crossroads in life and figuring out our answers to defining our own successes. That great big question of “what’s next” really is daunting, isn’t it?

If there’s anything I’ve learned (for myself and through conversations with close friends), it’s that success is the growth that comes out of positive changes. Sure it can be affected by dream jobs, salaries, extensive resumes, raising families, getting married, owning luxury items, buying houses etc but if we don’t have those stories to tell, it doesn’t mean we’re any less successful. Or less privileged or even disadvantaged. Or even that we’ve failed. Not at all!!!

For most of my life, I thought of failure as a horrible thing. As I’ve grown up, I realized that as long as we learn from it, failure is a perfectly good thing. In fact, we only fail when we stop trying. Or when we say things like “what can I do, that’s how life is.” Or when we let our past dictate our future. Or when we let our previous mistakes control our lives. I appreciate the mistakes I made (though they were painful to accept) not only because they’ve taught me how fragile my life is, but because I’ve been blessed through it all.

Our life stories are very different, our goals in life are very different; our personalities are very different. We are all successful in so many ways; we define our achievements in so many ways. And as this article suggests “Believe in yourself, negotiate for yourself, believe in your own success.” We are our own success.

Read the link and let me know what you think 🙂 http://whenihavetime.com/2012/02/16/stop-sabotaging-your-own-success-a-manifesto/

 

Posted on March 1, 2012, in Notes to Self, Random Insights and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

