Day of Impact

20120314-210753.jpg

I volunteered with City Impact in the SF tenderloin yesterday. It was such a humbling and rewarding experience to meet and serve the homeless. The day started out with a really powerful p&w, then followed with outreach service that included a block party with music, food and prayers; then a section with haircuts, mani/pedis, medical check ups and free clothing; followed by fun workshops and a praise fest for closing.

I’ve been feeling really lost lately and figured a day of service could help take my mind off things. I was slightly nervous about going by myself and not knowing what I was getting into; but instead, I had fun getting to know people, heard a lot of heartwarming stories and left with a renewed feeling of spiritual nourishment.

If you’re feeling stressed out, troubled or lost like I was try volunteering. Not only will you be able to help others but you’ll gain a deeper sense of self and understanding of life.

C’est la vie!

 

Posted on March 14, 2012, in Random Insights, Visual Inspirations. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

